Configuring a Composite HID Device

Discussion of keyboards, gamepads, joysticks and other input related peripherals.
dstevens

Configuring a Composite HID Device

Unread post by dstevens »

I'm working on a custom USB adapter for an arcade fight stick based on a STM32F411.

The fight stick has 2 joysticks, 14 buttons, 2 spinners, and a trackball.

I've split the controls into three composite HID devices. 2 joysticks (with 7 buttons and 1 spinner each) and one mouse device for the trackball.

On Windows everything works great, but I can't get it working fully in MiSTer.

When I attempt to define the second joystick (using the system settings menu) the only buttons I can define are from the first joystick. It doesn't appear MiSTer is treating each composite device as a separate device.

I'm new to this so I hope I'm using the proper terminology. Any ideas what I should try next?

Thanks

EDIT: Here is the HID descriptor I'm using...

Code: Select all

0x05, 0x01,        // Usage Page (Generic Desktop Ctrls)
0x09, 0x04,        // Usage (Joystick)
0xA1, 0x01,        // Collection (Application)
0xA1, 0x00,        //   Collection (Physical)
0x85, 0x01,        //     Report ID (1)
0x05, 0x09,        //     Usage Page (Button)
0x19, 0x01,        //     Usage Minimum (0x01)
0x29, 0x08,        //     Usage Maximum (0x08)
0x15, 0x00,        //     Logical Minimum (0)
0x25, 0x01,        //     Logical Maximum (1)
0x95, 0x10,        //     Report Count (16)
0x75, 0x01,        //     Report Size (1)
0x81, 0x02,        //     Input (Data,Var,Abs,No Wrap,Linear,Preferred State,No Null Position)
0x05, 0x01,        //     Usage Page (Generic Desktop Ctrls)
0x09, 0x37,        //     Usage (Dial)
0x15, 0x80,        //     Logical Minimum (-128)
0x25, 0x7F,        //     Logical Maximum (127)
0x95, 0x01,        //     Report Count (1)
0x75, 0x08,        //     Report Size (8)
0x81, 0x06,        //     Input (Data,Var,Rel,No Wrap,Linear,Preferred State,No Null Position)