Totally New To All Of This

Just got a MiSTer and need some help? Join the forum and post your questions here!
thjxw05

Totally New To All Of This

Unread post by thjxw05 »

Good morning,

Well having watched a bit of youtube, I bit the bullet and ordered a DE10 from the manufacturer - given the stock shortage I thought it would come in June or July.

FedEx has just emailed and it's coming next week! :D

So I have ordered the extra RAM, a keyboard, a wifi/Bluetooth adaptor, SD card and a USB hub from my good friend Amazon!

So my questions are:

1. - Have I got everything I need to make it work? - I think I have
2. - Cores - I download these from the wiki for the ones I want - do I do them all one at a time?
3. - Once I have the cores I will need to get the games - where do we do for them, manly 80's (especially Elite (if it's around)) and sega mega drive (they used to come on CD's from memory)

I have limited knowledge of how this all works for if they are elsewhere in the guide please tell me as I couldn't see them.

Thank you

John
cursedverses

Re: Totally New To All Of This

Unread post by cursedverses »

Just a quick one - do you have an OTG USB cable, or is the USB hub an OTG hub? If not, you'll need an USB OTG adaptor too.
bazza_12
Top Contributor

Unread post by bazza_12 »

1. if you're using a hdmi monitor you'll be fine, if you want to use a CRT you'll need an i/o board. otherwise you've got everything (joypad, mouse?)
2. you can install the cores one-by-one if you only require a specific ones, or you can run the update.all script which will download all the cores, some of the bios needed to run them, plus arcade cores/zip files.. (not computer rom's)

https://github.com/MiSTer-devel/Main_Mi ... etup-Guide
https://youtu.be/pZEpusjC6QA

3. the internet really is your friend. I'm sure they're all 'archive.org'd somewhere ;)