rename: Permission denied in Monkey Island 1 Flynnsbit packs

AmintaMister
Posts: 277
Joined: Thu Sep 16, 2021 10:54 pm
Has thanked: 720 times
Been thanked: 44 times

rename: Permission denied in Monkey Island 1 Flynnsbit packs

Unread post by AmintaMister »

Lately I have the same problem both on Top300 and Shareware Flynnsbit packs. I can't get to run Monkey Island 1, if I try the same "ExoDOS" formatted game in a "clean" MS Dos 6.22 environment it perfectly works!


The problem is with this line:

Code: Select all

rename MONKEY.EXE MONKEY.OLD
CODE: SELECT ALL

that generates this error:

Code: Select all

rename: Permission denied
This program cannot be run in DOS mode.
This program cannot be run in DOS mode.
flynnsbit
Top Contributor
Posts: 550
Joined: Sun May 24, 2020 8:07 pm
Has thanked: 179 times
Been thanked: 307 times
Contact:

Re: rename: Permission denied in Monkey Island 1 Flynnsbit packs

Unread post by flynnsbit »

I don't get it. There isn't a rename command in any of my monkey island scripts. Here it is: https://github.com/flynnsbit/Top300_upd ... i1/run.bat

Where are you seeing that rename line?

EDIT: Found it: https://github.com/flynnsbit/Top300_upd ... /APPLY.BAT

Not sure why apply would be running if you are just playing the game.
AmintaMister
Posts: 277
Joined: Thu Sep 16, 2021 10:54 pm
Has thanked: 720 times
Been thanked: 44 times

Re: rename: Permission denied in Monkey Island 1 Flynnsbit packs

Unread post by AmintaMister »

flynnsbit wrote: Fri Apr 15, 2022 9:51 pm I don't get it. There isn't a rename command in any of my monkey island scripts. Here it is: https://github.com/flynnsbit/Top300_upd ... i1/run.bat

Where are you seeing that rename line?

EDIT: Found it: https://github.com/flynnsbit/Top300_upd ... /APPLY.BAT

Not sure why apply would be running if you are just playing the game.
Sorry, I didn't understood your answer....
flynnsbit
Top Contributor
Posts: 550
Joined: Sun May 24, 2020 8:07 pm
Has thanked: 179 times
Been thanked: 307 times
Contact:

Re: rename: Permission denied in Monkey Island 1 Flynnsbit packs

Unread post by flynnsbit »

AmintaMister wrote: Sat Apr 16, 2022 8:16 am
flynnsbit wrote: Fri Apr 15, 2022 9:51 pm I don't get it. There isn't a rename command in any of my monkey island scripts. Here it is: https://github.com/flynnsbit/Top300_upd ... i1/run.bat

Where are you seeing that rename line?

EDIT: Found it: https://github.com/flynnsbit/Top300_upd ... /APPLY.BAT

Not sure why apply would be running if you are just playing the game.
Sorry, I didn't understood your answer....
There is a script in floppy called "APPLY.BAT". Why are you running that?

Just run Run.bat or 1_START.BAT to launch the game.
AmintaMister
Posts: 277
Joined: Thu Sep 16, 2021 10:54 pm
Has thanked: 720 times
Been thanked: 44 times

Re: rename: Permission denied in Monkey Island 1 Flynnsbit packs

Unread post by AmintaMister »

flynnsbit wrote: Sat Apr 16, 2022 4:43 pm
AmintaMister wrote: Sat Apr 16, 2022 8:16 am
flynnsbit wrote: Fri Apr 15, 2022 9:51 pm I don't get it. There isn't a rename command in any of my monkey island scripts. Here it is: https://github.com/flynnsbit/Top300_upd ... i1/run.bat

Where are you seeing that rename line?

EDIT: Found it: https://github.com/flynnsbit/Top300_upd ... /APPLY.BAT

Not sure why apply would be running if you are just playing the game.
Sorry, I didn't understood your answer....
There is a script in floppy called "APPLY.BAT". Why are you running that?

Just run Run.bat or 1_START.BAT to launch the game.
Hi, thanks for your help!

This is the original Exodos file slightly modified (it gives the "permission denied" error):

Code: Select all

:menu
@echo off
cls
echo.
echo Press 1 for The Secret of Monkey Island Floppy w/ EGA & Tandy
echo Press 2 for The Secret of Monkey Island Floppy w/ EGA & Game Blaster
echo Press 3 for The Secret of Monkey Island Floppy w/ EGA & Adlib
echo Press 4 for The Secret of Monkey Island Floppy w/ EGA & MT32
echo Press 5 for The Secret of Monkey Island Floppy w/ VGA & Adlib
echo Press 6 for The Secret of Monkey Island Floppy w/ VGA & MT32 w/ SB SFX
echo Press 7 for The Secret of Monkey Island ITALIAN Floppy w/ VGA & MT32 w/ SB SFX
echo Press 8 for The Secret of Monkey Island CD w/ CD Audio
echo Press 9 for The Secret of Monkey Island CD w/ MT32 + Ultimate Talkie Edition
echo Press 0 to Quit
echo.
jchoice /C:1234567890 /N Please Choose:

if errorlevel = 0 goto quit
if errorlevel = 9 goto talkie
if errorlevel = 8 goto cdaudio
if errorlevel = 7 goto MT32_ITALIAN
if errorlevel = 6 goto MT32
if errorlevel = 5 goto SB16
if errorlevel = 4 goto EGAMT32
if errorlevel = 3 goto EGADLIB
if errorlevel = 2 goto gb
if errorlevel = 1 goto TANDY

:EGADLIB
REM CONFIG -set"mididevice=default"
cd cga
cls
@monkey e a
goto quit

:TANDY
REM CONFIG -set"mididevice=default"
cd cga
cls
@monkey e TS
goto quit

:SB16
REM CONFIG -set"mididevice=default"
cd floppy
cls
@monkey a
goto quit

:EGAMT32
mt32-pi -m -v
cd cga
cls
@monkey e r
goto quit

:MT32
mt32-pi -M -v
cd floppy
@mtadl v mo
goto quit

:MT32_ITALIAN
mt32-pi -m -v
cd floppy_italian
cls
mtadl v mo
goto quit

:gb
REM CONFIG -set"mididevice=default"
REM CONFIG -set"sbtype=gb"
cd cga
cls
@monkey e g
goto quit

:talkie
mt32-pi -m -v
cd talkie
cls
@monkey r1
goto quit

:cdaudio
REM CONFIG -set"mididevice=default"
d:
cd english
cls
@monkey
goto quit

:quit
exit
Choosing whatever option, you return to MyMenu main screen.

This the file I wrote and that works:

Code: Select all

mt32-pi -m -v
cd floppy_italian
cls
mtadl v mo
Post Reply