Can't Load ROMs

Just got a MiSTer and need some help? Join the forum and post your questions here!
mykarmayourdogma

Can't Load ROMs

Unread post by mykarmayourdogma »

So im a total newb at all this. I got the hardware setup fine but I cannot get Genesis or Nes core roms to load and play. The arcade cores do load fine and play. It attempts to load the cores and then just hangs. it doesn't lock up the MISTer I can try to load another rom. On the NES roms sometimes random characters or colors will appear on screen but no audio or game. I have tried several different roms from different places and none seem to work. Anyone have any help to offer?
DevilHunterWolf

Re: Can't Load ROMs

Unread post by DevilHunterWolf »

MiSTer is as picky with ROMs as original hardware. Software emulators ignore little file issues and continue to play but original hardware doesn't. If it wouldn't work in a flashcart on the real console, there's basically no chance of it working on MiSTer. I'm making an assumption arcade was taken care of by the update_all script which is why those work. It already gathered appropriate files. But for anything else you're getting yourself, they need to be accurate ROM files. You need flashcart compatible files.
FPGA64
Top Contributor

Unread post by FPGA64 »

The Nes needs a memory expansion. The Mega drive its optional
mykarmayourdogma

DevilHunterWolf wrote: Sun Apr 24, 2022 3:31 pm MiSTer is as picky with ROMs as original hardware. Software emulators ignore little file issues and continue to play but original hardware doesn't. If it wouldn't work in a flashcart on the real console, there's basically no chance of it working on MiSTer. I'm making an assumption arcade was taken care of by the update_all script which is why those work. It already gathered appropriate files. But for anything else you're getting yourself, they need to be accurate ROM files. You need flashcart compatible files.