Page 1 of 1

Loading ROMs Directly from Network? [Solved]

Posted: Sat Jun 13, 2020 8:47 pm
by Mikkel
I know you can transfer roms to the MiSTer vis samba and ftp, but what about loading roms directly from a pc via some kind of network connection without transferring them to the MiSTer sd card/ usb drive first?

Maybe by running a server on a pc and connecting to that server from MiSTer somehow?

Thanks in advance!

Re: Loading ROMs Directly from Network?

Posted: Sun Jun 14, 2020 5:39 am
by zakk4223
You can. Look into the cifs_mount.sh script in the Scripts directory. Create a cifs_mount.ini based on the options detail in the script

Re: Loading ROMs Directly from Network?

Posted: Sun Jun 14, 2020 12:08 pm
by Mikkel
I might be a bit of a noob but I couldn't figure it out

I'm on Windows 10 64-bit

First i enabled a windows feature called SMB 1.0/CIFS File Sharing Support

Then i right-clicked on a folder called 'MiSTer' on my pc then Properties->Advanced Sharing->Share this folder

Then i made a cifs_mount.ini with the following content

SERVER="192.168.87.180"
SHARE="MiSTer"

Then i ran the cifs_mount.sh script from the MiSTer menu

Then the following error message appeared

mount: /tmp/cifs_mount: bad option; for several filesystems (e.g. nfs, cifs) you might need a /sbin/mount.<type> helper program.
//192.168.87.180/MiSTer not mounted
Done!
Press any key to continue

What might i be doing wrong??

Thanks in advance!

Re: Loading ROMs Directly from Network?

Posted: Sun Jun 14, 2020 9:49 pm
by Locutus73
Mikkel wrote: Sun Jun 14, 2020 12:08 pm What might i be doing wrong??

Thanks in advance!
Try using a terminal (framebuffer terminal or SSH): launch the script and immediately after launch dmesg command. You will see kernel output messages which are more informative. Probably they will tell something about what went wrong.

Regards.

Locutus73

Re: Loading ROMs Directly from Network?

Posted: Mon Jun 15, 2020 5:13 am
by Cebion
Two simple things under windows

You need to have a username / password most of the times for other systems, check if you can access your share from your phone etc.

Re: Loading ROMs Directly from Network?

Posted: Mon Jun 15, 2020 8:14 am
by lomdar67
Did you set ADDITIONAL_MOUNT_OPTIONS?

Try ADDITIONAL_MOUNT_OPTIONS="vers=2.0" or ADDITIONAL_MOUNT_OPTIONS="vers=3.0"

Also take a look here for common problems: https://appuals.com/how-to-fix-the-wind ... g-problem/

Re: Loading ROMs Directly from Network?

Posted: Mon Jun 15, 2020 1:39 pm
by Mikkel
[SOLVED]
I figured it out! All I had to do was add my windows username and password.

So the ini file is:

SERVER="192.168.87.180"
SHARE="MiSTer"
USERNAME="<Windows Username>"
PASSWORD="<Windows Password>"

Thanks you guys are awesome!!

Re: Loading ROMs Directly from Network?

Posted: Wed Jun 29, 2022 5:23 pm
by Zarkov
Hi, looks like most ppl are using shares on a windows os PC.

Is it possible to use a share on a linux os pc like Ubuntu Desktop.

I was able to setup a shared folder in my Ubuntu desktop.

Re: Loading ROMs Directly from Network?

Posted: Wed Jun 29, 2022 5:38 pm
by Bas
Sure that's possible. Under the hood all non-Windows systems use Samba for this. How it's configured depends on the particular OS itself. Ubuntu is just as good a candidate as any other. I use FreeBSD myself.

Re: Loading ROMs Directly from Network?

Posted: Wed Jun 29, 2022 6:43 pm
by Zarkov
Bas wrote: Wed Jun 29, 2022 5:38 pm Sure that's possible. Under the hood all non-Windows systems use Samba for this. How it's configured depends on the particular OS itself. Ubuntu is just as good a candidate as any other. I use FreeBSD myself.
Ok so I’m getting an error on my mister when I run my script to mount cifs.

It says the connection is read only. It says read only right after the IP address and share name.


I have a shared folder called Mister on my pc in Ubuntu.

I made a cifs mount ini file on my mister.

In the ini I put in my PCs IP address, the account I use to log into Ubuntu and it’s pass. It has the share name as Mister.


I’ve tried to change options for the shared folder in Ubuntu, like checking the box to allow anyone to create and delete files. I don’t think I need that since the mister ini has my username and pass. It didn’t fix it.

Do I need to turn on samba in my mister first before the mount script can function?

**update

I got it working. I needed to configure samba in Ubuntu using the command line. I was able to get a share setup correctly and the mister script to connect to it.