Ultimarc Ultimate I/O RGB LED controller

Discussion of keyboards, gamepads, joysticks and other input related peripherals.
Rolyen

Ultimarc Ultimate I/O RGB LED controller

Unread post by Rolyen »

Hi all. I'm very new to all of this, but have been methodically putting together components and building my 1st arcade around the MISTER FPGA.

I decided to go with the Ultimarc Ultimate I/O board, and RGB light-up buttons, thinking that I could somehow configure the on-board memory on the controller to set them to specific colors (either a color sequence, or different colors for player 1 and 2) without needing to be connected to a PC or Rasberry Pi (As I understand it, the MISTER FPGA cores do not yet have support for controlling RGB's or supporting 3rd party software for it?).

However, playing around with it, it seems as if it's really designed to run 3rd party software to control the LED's (eg. LEDBLinky and such), and I can't find any info on setting up the LED's on a "fixed" basis without a connected PC.

I'm hoping I'm wrong, and that someone here has experience in dealing with such a setup. Sorry if this is a repeat question - I've been searching this and other arcade forums for a while, and haven't come across this particular issue yet (but figure it can't be that uncommon, as outside the MISTER community, RGB arcades seem to be all the rage).

-Rolyen
Blitzwing

Re: Ultimarc Ultimate I/O RGB LED controller

Unread post by Blitzwing »

Hi, I've got no experience with this sort of setup so I can only give an uneducated guess. This IO board looks like it connects through GPIO pins?? If so that's immediately a no go as most, if not all, of the GPIO pins are in use either for SDRAM or the Analogue/digital MiSTer IO boards. To get it to interface with that second row (instead of the standard IO board) would require significant modification of the individual cores as well as "Main"