Page 1 of 1

Linux Terminal/Scripts on a CRT [Solved]

Posted: Wed Nov 09, 2022 1:40 pm
by capitaineflam25
Hi,

it is possible to enable the Linux terminal on the screen by enabling the scaler and setting a CRT resolution on MiSTer.ini

With this example, you can press F9 to open a console or start a script from the menu and follow the output.

Code: Select all

[MiSTer]
vga_scaler=1
video_mode=640,16,88,64,240,6,5,13,12700
This works well but as the vga_scaler=1 is on the main ini section, the scaler is enabled for every other cores, making them look weird.

Is there a solution to enable the scaler only for mister core (the main menu) ?

Re: Linux Terminal/Scripts on a CRT [Solved]

Posted: Wed Nov 09, 2022 1:51 pm
by FoxbatStargazer
use the [main] header to apply ini settings to just the main menu

Code: Select all

[main]
direct_video=1

Re: Linux Terminal/Scripts on a CRT [Solved]

Posted: Wed Nov 09, 2022 1:57 pm
by capitaineflam25
FoxbatStargazer wrote: Wed Nov 09, 2022 1:51 pm use the [main] header to apply ini settings to just the main menu
Oh ! Thanks a lot, i didn't know that :idea:

Re: Linux Terminal/Scripts on a CRT [Solved]

Posted: Wed Nov 09, 2022 5:40 pm
by capitaineflam25
Unfortunately it doesn't work, the [main] section of MiSTer.ini seems ignored
Here is the result with

Code: Select all

[MiSTer]
fb_terminal=1
...
 
[main]
# Allow linux temrinal on my CRT
vga_scaler=1
video_mode=640,16,88,64,240,6,5,13,12700

Re: Linux Terminal/Scripts on a CRT [Solved]

Posted: Thu Nov 10, 2022 7:31 am
by capitaineflam25
The solution was to name the section [menu] on the ini.
Now it works well on my CRT 👍🏻

Code: Select all

[MiSTer]
fb_terminal=1
...
 
[menu]
# Allow linux temrinal on my CRT
vga_scaler=1
video_mode=640,16,88,64,240,6,5,13,12700