Linux Terminal/Scripts on a CRT [Solved]

Kernel, Main, Utilities & Applications, Miscellaneous Devices.
capitaineflam25
Posts: 36
Joined: Mon Oct 10, 2022 6:56 pm
Has thanked: 34 times
Been thanked: 6 times

Linux Terminal/Scripts on a CRT [Solved]

Unread post by capitaineflam25 »

Hi,

it is possible to enable the Linux terminal on the screen by enabling the scaler and setting a CRT resolution on MiSTer.ini

With this example, you can press F9 to open a console or start a script from the menu and follow the output.

Code: Select all

[MiSTer]
vga_scaler=1
video_mode=640,16,88,64,240,6,5,13,12700
This works well but as the vga_scaler=1 is on the main ini section, the scaler is enabled for every other cores, making them look weird.

Is there a solution to enable the scaler only for mister core (the main menu) ?
FoxbatStargazer
Top Contributor
Posts: 994
Joined: Thu Dec 10, 2020 5:44 pm
Has thanked: 309 times
Been thanked: 228 times

Re: Linux Terminal/Scripts on a CRT [Solved]

Unread post by FoxbatStargazer »

use the [main] header to apply ini settings to just the main menu

Code: Select all

[main]
direct_video=1
capitaineflam25
Posts: 36
Joined: Mon Oct 10, 2022 6:56 pm
Has thanked: 34 times
Been thanked: 6 times

Re: Linux Terminal/Scripts on a CRT [Solved]

Unread post by capitaineflam25 »

FoxbatStargazer wrote: Wed Nov 09, 2022 1:51 pm use the [main] header to apply ini settings to just the main menu
Oh ! Thanks a lot, i didn't know that :idea:
capitaineflam25
Posts: 36
Joined: Mon Oct 10, 2022 6:56 pm
Has thanked: 34 times
Been thanked: 6 times

Re: Linux Terminal/Scripts on a CRT [Solved]

Unread post by capitaineflam25 »

Unfortunately it doesn't work, the [main] section of MiSTer.ini seems ignored
Here is the result with

Code: Select all

[MiSTer]
fb_terminal=1
...
 
[main]
# Allow linux temrinal on my CRT
vga_scaler=1
video_mode=640,16,88,64,240,6,5,13,12700
Attachments
IMG_20221109_182647.jpg
IMG_20221109_182647.jpg (1.43 MiB) Viewed 698 times
capitaineflam25
Posts: 36
Joined: Mon Oct 10, 2022 6:56 pm
Has thanked: 34 times
Been thanked: 6 times

Re: Linux Terminal/Scripts on a CRT [Solved]

Unread post by capitaineflam25 »

The solution was to name the section [menu] on the ini.
Now it works well on my CRT 👍🏻

Code: Select all

[MiSTer]
fb_terminal=1
...
 
[menu]
# Allow linux temrinal on my CRT
vga_scaler=1
video_mode=640,16,88,64,240,6,5,13,12700
Post Reply