Setup a Constant Internet Connection For MiSTer?

For topics which do not fit in other specific forums.
mist-rich

Setup a Constant Internet Connection For MiSTer?

Unread post by mist-rich »

ntt wrote: Sat Oct 22, 2022 10:15 amespecially considering that a MiSTer without internet access would probably lose most of its appeal.
My 2c :D

I'm still very new to the Mister and have a lot to learn but am having a blast playing through some of the old console cores - I've not managed to setup a constant internet connection to it yet and now wondering what I might be missing out on?
AngelicLiver

Re: Setup a Constant Internet Connection For MiSTer?

Unread post by AngelicLiver »

mist-rich wrote: Tue Nov 01, 2022 8:29 pm
ntt wrote: Sat Oct 22, 2022 10:15 amespecially considering that a MiSTer without internet access would probably lose most of its appeal.

I'm still very new to the Mister and have a lot to learn but am having a blast playing through some of the old console cores - I've not managed to setup a constant internet connection to it yet and now wondering what I might be missing out on?
Update All and the constant stream of new cores (especially coveted arcade cores) as well as BBS and internet functionality for computer cores.
Malor
Top Contributor

Unread post by Malor »

mist-rich wrote: Tue Nov 01, 2022 8:29 pm

Well, accurate time if you're running cores that care about that. The RTC is a workaround. Otherwise, as AngelicLiver says, the ease of running update_all and getting new stuff, hassle-free, is pretty nice. It can also make it much easier to load new ROMs, instead of having to take the SD to a Windows machine.

I updated my comment above with a method of setting the RTC. It needs to be set once per battery.
mist-rich

That makes perfect sense , thank you. I'm going to update_all asap as it has been awhile.