Trouble with PAL/NTSC Output on CRT

Discussion about displays and related hardware including MiSTer filters and video settings.
BraveToaster

Trouble with PAL/NTSC Output on CRT

Unread post by BraveToaster »

Hi,

I'm pretty new to MiSTer and have gotten a MiSTer Multisystem a while back. For video output, I use the built-in RGB SCART port. In case you aren't familiar with this hardware, this is what the manual says about it:

For technical reference the SCART sync output is automatically combined from the VSync and HSync signals, this combined sync is then connected to the SCART Composite sync output via a 68 Ohm resistor.
This combined sync means that you do not need to select composite sync output in the MiSTer.INI file. It can be enabled or disabled and the SCART sync output will still function.
For the Analogue RGB SCART output to function correctly, the resolution of the analogue RGB must be allowed to output at the original raw signal of the machine/computer/console being simulated. This basically means that the VGA scaler must always be turned off in the MiSTer.INI file

I have connected a Loewe Calida CRT TV via RGB SCART. It is a 100/120Hz TV from the late 90's that can happily display PAL, PAL60, and NTSC signals. It has run 35,000 hours as a regular PAL TV, but seems to be in perfect working condition in general. I've played around with different cores on the MiSTer and am super happy with the results. However, I cannot really get a consistent signal out of the device across cores. It's particularly noticeable for PAL (for which I didn't touch the TV's factory settings) - for example, while the picture is fine in the Amiga core, it's noticeably squished and misaligned in Genesis and SNES:

Amiga PAL
Amiga PAL
Amiga-PAL.jpg (216.3 KiB) Viewed 2024 times
SNES PAL
SNES PAL
SNES-PAL.jpg (222.1 KiB) Viewed 2024 times