Just Starting Out With MiSTer Some Basic Questions?

Just got a MiSTer and need some help? Join the forum and post your questions here!
insanityprawnboy

Just Starting Out With MiSTer Some Basic Questions?

Unread post by insanityprawnboy »

Hi. I'm completely new to the Mister. I bought one from eBay after seeing some videos about it.

Described as follows : "Mister FPGA - top of the range fully built ready to go! DE10 Nano, IO Board 6.1, RTC, tape input, 128MB, Blisster board!..

complete with UK power supply!.. 8gb card pre installed to get you going. Condition is "New"."

It also came in a nice case.

It arrived today. I plugged it in, and I can see all the cores (I can't see a Commodore Amiga one though, but I'll sort that out later, no doubt). I've added nothing to the Mister at all. The only games I got working were when I tried the Sega Genisis core - I found two there, Sonic and Ghouls and Ghosts.

There's a tiny SD card in the Primary SD port, and no SD card in the Secondary one.

I'd just like a pointer in what I should do next? Should I go buy another SD card? To put in the Secondary port? Is that where I'd put the ROMs on to? And where's the best place to get the roms?

Also, how does the Primary SD card come out without taking the case off? It seems almost impossible to get to.

I probably sound a bit daft, but like I say, I've just started here.

Thank you for reading.

Chris23235
Top Contributor

Re: Just Starting Out With MiSTer Some Basic Questions?

Unread post by Chris23235 »

Welcome to the MiSTer world. No need for a secondary SD card at the moment (some cores can utilise the secondary SD card, but most cores don't need it). What you definitely need is the sdram module. Can you check the description if your MiSTer is equipped with an sdram module?
The genesis core is one of the few cores that can use the DDR3-RAM of the DE10-Nano. Most cores expect a separate RAM module attached to your MiSTer (varying in Size between 32MB and 128MB).