Xilinx Compatibility

For topics which do not fit in other specific forums.
Grumpo

Xilinx Compatibility

Unread post by Grumpo »

Hi everyone, I'm new to the mister and this kind of stuff but I have a question.

For the existing cores and software, how easily can you port that to a Xilinx based device? I already have some hardware from them so I was hoping I could get something set up on an Ultra96 (or something similar).

AngelicLiver

Re: Xilinx Compatibility

Unread post by AngelicLiver »

Short answer is; it probably can't be done.

It depends entirely on the capabilities of the device in question and even then it is not a trivial task. The DE10-Nano is feature rich and subsidised by Intel meaning it is affordable (for now), the community has invested an awful lot of time expanding its capabilities, both by way of hardware and software. Cores are only one piece of the puzzle too, the MiSTer framework is the glue that holds the project together and porting this is a daunting task that, without an install base, I'm not sure anyone would be interested to work on it.

Just look at all the work going into porting MiSTer cores to the Analogue Pocket and that's using Cyclone V / 10, its a huge undertaking.

Newsdee
Top Contributor

Unread post by Newsdee »

Grumpo wrote: Fri Jan 06, 2023 12:02 am

For the existing cores and software, how easily can you port that to a Xilinx based device?

Your best bet is to start with cores already written for Xilinx devices, such as the ZxUno.
This page has a list of downloads for it: https://zxuno.speccy.org/descarga_e.shtml (you can also check their forums)

Alternatively you can start with MIST cores, which have less reliance on a central firmware (you still need one, but it's simpler than MiSTer's):
https://github.com/mist-devel/mist-board/wiki

Other than that, there is still massive work involved due to:

• LE capacity may be different

• Components presented to the FPGA may differ (SRAM vs SDRAM etc)