Would Cloud FPGA Gaming be feasible down the road?

For topics which do not fit in other specific forums.
KremlingKuthroat19

Would Cloud FPGA Gaming be feasible down the road?

Unread post by KremlingKuthroat19 »

Let me just say I have little to no knowledge regarding the complexities of cloud gaming, internet infrastructure and so on. This is simply an inquiry out of curiousity on what is theoretically possible in the long-term future (10-20 years from now).

I recently bought an Xbox Series S and I'm pretty impressed with the capabilities of XCloud even though it's still in beta. One of the coolest aspects of cloud gaming is that it allows you to run games that are too powerful to run on native hardware. Obviously internet infrastructure has a long way to go until cloud gaming becomes mainstream, especially if its the preferable option over playing games natively. My view is that 6G is the point at which cloud gaming is good enough where latency is almost imperceivable. That's obviously a long way off and 5G is still rolling out so if 6G were to be implemented on a much larger scale, it'd be in the mid 2030s.

Anyways, not to derail this topic, but could you theoretically play with a higher powered FPGA on a native FPGA like the MiSTer some day in the future? Another question is could you run a high-powered FPGA on a non-FPGA device like a PC through the cloud? I have no idea if this is even possible, but just wanted to start a thread and maybe get some expert opinions on the feasibility of it :)

Bas
Top Contributor

Re: Would Cloud FPGA Gaming be feasible down the road?

Unread post by Bas »

The main advantage of FPGA gaming is the low latency. That's going to be very hard to convey across the internet. The best uplinks that I see from consumer fiber to a cloud data center get around 20ms round-trip network latency. That's the speed of light inside 100-ish miles of fiber plus the switching electronics in between.