N64 Core

CMR
Posts: 88
Joined: Sun Dec 20, 2020 12:29 am
Has thanked: 29 times
Been thanked: 8 times

Re: N64 Core

Unread post by CMR »

Neocaron wrote: Sat Sep 02, 2023 1:50 pm

The filtering didn't even blur the image so this is not N64 final output (the AA pass is missing but I don't think I'll use the AA pass to be honest XD), it just looks amazing!

I think it was the dithering filter that made everything blury when combined with AA. Hopefully we'll be able to turn it off like we can in the Playstation core.

User avatar
Alkadian
Top Contributor
Posts: 706
Joined: Thu May 28, 2020 9:55 am
Has thanked: 277 times
Been thanked: 111 times

Re: N64 Core

Unread post by Alkadian »

I am very excited about all these super fast progresses for the N64 core! I still can't believe it! Many thanks @FPGAzumSpass for your big and continuous efforts made!

I would really appreciate if someone could assist with the below. I am sure I am missing something!

I have just tried Super Mario 64 (USA). I get passed the first screen with Charles Martinet's voice but then I get just glitched graphics on my LCD screen as per the picture below.

I am using the latest unstable Mister, the latest N64_20230902.rbf and the NTSC Bios with the correct SHA1 as indicated on the GitHub page. I have tried with different No-Intro versions of the game but to no avail.

Mario Kart (USA) runs perfectly though.

Would you please share your thoughts with me?

Thanks a lot!

Attachments
SM64Glitches.png
SM64Glitches.png (2.23 MiB) Viewed 4296 times
User avatar
Aspie
Posts: 180
Joined: Sat Sep 26, 2020 1:07 pm
Location: Manchester
Has thanked: 19 times
Been thanked: 42 times
Contact:

Re: N64 Core

Unread post by Aspie »

Alkadian, you need to patch the Super Mario 64 rom. Go to Vampier's website and there are the files and instruction on how to do it

Schuetze1111
Posts: 9
Joined: Sat Sep 02, 2023 2:23 pm
Been thanked: 1 time

Re: N64 Kern

Unread post by Schuetze1111 »

FPGAzumSpass wrote: Sun Sep 03, 2023 4:50 am
Schuetze1111 wrote: Sat Sep 02, 2023 2:24 pm

I'm having trouble with the controller. most of the time I can move everything in the menu but in the game the buttons work but The analog or digital directional buttons only work in the menu and not in the game

Be sure to map the controller and analog axis in the menu core(that comes up after turning on mister), before you select the N64 core.

When setting up the controller in the mister menu, I had always ended prematurely with enter as setup. However, I had to set up the analog stick at the end of the setup and now it works. Thank you very much

User avatar
Alkadian
Top Contributor
Posts: 706
Joined: Thu May 28, 2020 9:55 am
Has thanked: 277 times
Been thanked: 111 times

Re: N64 Core

Unread post by Alkadian »

Aspie wrote: Sun Sep 03, 2023 11:10 am

Alkadian, you need to patch the Super Mario 64 rom. Go to Vampier's website and there are the files and instruction on how to do it

Thanks, that did the trock indeed! :mrgreen:

FPGA64
Top Contributor
Posts: 618
Joined: Mon Mar 01, 2021 3:10 pm
Has thanked: 41 times
Been thanked: 288 times

Re: N64 Core

Unread post by FPGA64 »

RDP: fix 2 cycle mode trigger generation at end of polygon (fixed white pixels in some games) (edited)

Faq at

https://vampier.net/N64/

Attachments
N64_20230903.rbf
(3.37 MiB) Downloaded 163 times
thorr
Top Contributor
Posts: 1037
Joined: Mon Jul 06, 2020 9:37 pm
Has thanked: 495 times
Been thanked: 230 times

Re: N64 Core

Unread post by thorr »

Does anyone know if rumble is supposed to be working yet? I have tried, but can't get it to be detected, such as in Quake 64. I have it enabled in the core menu.

FPGA64
Top Contributor
Posts: 618
Joined: Mon Mar 01, 2021 3:10 pm
Has thanked: 41 times
Been thanked: 288 times

Re: N64 Core

Unread post by FPGA64 »

thorr wrote: Sun Sep 03, 2023 7:43 pm

Does anyone know if rumble is supposed to be working yet? I have tried, but can't get it to be detected, such as in Quake 64. I have it enabled in the core menu.

No its not been added yet

chunky_tesco
Posts: 57
Joined: Wed Jun 29, 2022 11:20 pm
Has thanked: 2 times
Been thanked: 10 times

Re: N64 Core

Unread post by chunky_tesco »

In theory how many controllers can SNAC support at anyone time on the N64 core? I’m hoping to see something like the PSX SNAC adapters on ultimatemister and misterfpga.co.uk which are neat and self contained.

FPGA64
Top Contributor
Posts: 618
Joined: Mon Mar 01, 2021 3:10 pm
Has thanked: 41 times
Been thanked: 288 times

Re: N64 Core

Unread post by FPGA64 »

Robert goes again

See the FAQ

https://vampier.net/N64/

RSP: fixed a bug where RSP DMA was started multiple times
RDP: implement CVG manipulation in z-buffer compare
RDP: wait for all pixels to be written before reporting polygon as complete
added rdramregs memory area
4/8mbyte ram switch implemented in DDR3Mux
don't load ram data on core boot until cart was downloaded

Attachments
N64_20230904.rbf
(3.43 MiB) Downloaded 152 times
djsquare
Posts: 111
Joined: Mon May 25, 2020 3:29 pm
Has thanked: 15 times
Been thanked: 15 times

Re: N64 Core

Unread post by djsquare »

Why not use the the update script and stop being so old school with the manual updating

Attachments
update_N64.zip
(1.74 KiB) Downloaded 171 times
User avatar
Phoenix
Posts: 24
Joined: Tue May 11, 2021 8:08 pm
Has thanked: 5 times
Been thanked: 6 times

Re: N64 Core

Unread post by Phoenix »

Maybe because of this:

WARNING!: The script updates to MiSTer unstable, if you don't know what this means then do not use this script!

Personally I don't want to update to MiSTer unstable, so I do appreciate the manual sharing ;)

thorr
Top Contributor
Posts: 1037
Joined: Mon Jul 06, 2020 9:37 pm
Has thanked: 495 times
Been thanked: 230 times

Re: N64 Core

Unread post by thorr »

I love the latest version! Wave Race 64 no longer has triangle lines in the water as far as I can tell and apart from occasional temporary freezes is playing really great!

FPGA64
Top Contributor
Posts: 618
Joined: Mon Mar 01, 2021 3:10 pm
Has thanked: 41 times
Been thanked: 288 times

Re: N64 Core

Unread post by FPGA64 »

djsquare wrote: Tue Sep 05, 2023 12:05 am

Why not use the the update script and stop being so old school with the manual updating

Because it relies on a human to upload the Build to the scripts download location. If the guy isnt in when a build releases the script wont be updated.

HarborSeal
Posts: 40
Joined: Sun Jul 12, 2020 6:54 am
Has thanked: 34 times
Been thanked: 13 times

Re: N64 Core

Unread post by HarborSeal »

For some reason, my Xbox controller's analog stick can only move side to side, and not up or down. I tried to customize the controller in the setup menu, but nothing changed. I can play Mario Kart okay, but any game requiring up or down movement is unplayable with this controller.

BTW, Banjo Kazooie's graphics are much improved in this latest release.

User avatar
SegaMan
Posts: 35
Joined: Tue May 26, 2020 8:23 am
Has thanked: 5 times
Been thanked: 4 times

Re: N64 Core

Unread post by SegaMan »

HarborSeal wrote: Tue Sep 05, 2023 9:35 am

For some reason, my Xbox controller's analog stick can only move side to side, and not up or down. I tried to customize the controller in the setup menu, but nothing changed. I can play Mario Kart okay, but any game requiring up or down movement is unplayable with this controller.

BTW, Banjo Kazooie's graphics are much improved in this latest release.

Same on 8bitdo Ultimate Controller.

Which controller works at the moment?

FPGA64
Top Contributor
Posts: 618
Joined: Mon Mar 01, 2021 3:10 pm
Has thanked: 41 times
Been thanked: 288 times

Re: N64 Core

Unread post by FPGA64 »

SegaMan wrote: Tue Sep 05, 2023 10:44 am
HarborSeal wrote: Tue Sep 05, 2023 9:35 am

For some reason, my Xbox controller's analog stick can only move side to side, and not up or down. I tried to customize the controller in the setup menu, but nothing changed. I can play Mario Kart okay, but any game requiring up or down movement is unplayable with this controller.

BTW, Banjo Kazooie's graphics are much improved in this latest release.

Same on 8bitdo Ultimate Controller.

Which controller works at the moment?

NSO N64 Controller works perfectly other than the player LEDs pulse all the time.

metalfacemark
Posts: 151
Joined: Mon Jan 04, 2021 12:04 pm
Has thanked: 13 times
Been thanked: 14 times

Re: N64 Core

Unread post by metalfacemark »

is this still hdmi out only, not for crt?

thorr
Top Contributor
Posts: 1037
Joined: Mon Jul 06, 2020 9:37 pm
Has thanked: 495 times
Been thanked: 230 times

Re: N64 Core

Unread post by thorr »

metalfacemark wrote: Tue Sep 05, 2023 1:21 pm

is this still hdmi out only, not for crt?

It has worked on my NTSC US CRT since the beginning with no scaler. I am using HDMI out.

User avatar
Bristles
Posts: 42
Joined: Wed Aug 16, 2023 8:36 pm
Has thanked: 12 times
Been thanked: 4 times

Re: N64 Core

Unread post by Bristles »

I am using it with both the analogue, and HDMI to VGA connections. Works well, but, the menu isn't readable on a CRT, it is on an LCD.
Played some Wave Race - worked really well, but did lock-up after about 10 mins. Progress is going well.

User avatar
Longtime4321
Posts: 87
Joined: Fri Aug 12, 2022 5:17 am
Has thanked: 8 times
Been thanked: 13 times

Re: N64 Core

Unread post by Longtime4321 »

WARNING!: The script updates to MiSTer unstable, if you don't know what this means then do not use this script!

Fuck! :) :) :) :)
Anyway to roll this back?

FPGA64
Top Contributor
Posts: 618
Joined: Mon Mar 01, 2021 3:10 pm
Has thanked: 41 times
Been thanked: 288 times

Re: N64 Core

Unread post by FPGA64 »

Dont fear Mister_unstable. Its perfectly harmless 99 % of the time.

vanfanel
Posts: 119
Joined: Sun May 24, 2020 6:53 pm
Has thanked: 9 times
Been thanked: 20 times

Re: N64 Core

Unread post by vanfanel »

@FPGA64: Please don't stop uploading these experimental cores. I am sure most of us prefer manual updating for experimental cores. Thank you.

softtest9
Posts: 157
Joined: Thu May 28, 2020 7:13 pm
Has thanked: 3 times
Been thanked: 21 times

Re: N64 Core

Unread post by softtest9 »

+1
I never had a need for random scripts, nor is my MiSTer connected to the internet.

User avatar
Phoenix
Posts: 24
Joined: Tue May 11, 2021 8:08 pm
Has thanked: 5 times
Been thanked: 6 times

Re: N64 Core

Unread post by Phoenix »

It seems I'm dumb, need your help :-)

I was thinking that only Mario Kart 64 was working at my side because I'm using the PAL system with my PAL roms... But I was wrong, the issue I have is that the N64 database file is not recognized / read by the core : if I deactivate the auto and setup myself the system settings, even Banjo-Kazooie is booting.

I've update this file to include the MD5 of my rom with the proper settings, I've also do the test with the NTSC bios and NTSC roms already known in this list... But no, this file is just not read by the core.

I've verified the steps from the FAQ, my file is "N64-database.txt" into /games/N64...
All file rights from this games/N64 directory are rwxr-xr-x ; root

My Mister is up-to-date, stable.

What am I missing?
It's not a huge problem, I just want to understand why I seem to be the only one :shock:

Thanks guys :-)

FPGA64
Top Contributor
Posts: 618
Joined: Mon Mar 01, 2021 3:10 pm
Has thanked: 41 times
Been thanked: 288 times

Re: N64 Core

Unread post by FPGA64 »

Phoenix wrote: Tue Sep 05, 2023 4:30 pm

It seems I'm dumb, need your help :-)

I was thinking that only Mario Kart 64 was working at my side because I'm using the PAL system with my PAL roms... But I was wrong, the issue I have is that the N64 database file is not recognized / read by the core : if I deactivate the auto and setup myself the system settings, even Banjo-Kazooie is booting.

I've update this file to include the MD5 of my rom with the proper settings, I've also do the test with the NTSC bios and NTSC roms already known in this list... But no, this file is just not read by the core.

I've verified the steps from the FAQ, my file is "N64-database.txt" into /games/N64...
All file rights from this games/N64 directory are rwxr-xr-x ; root

My Mister is up-to-date, stable.

What am I missing?
It's not a huge problem, I just want to understand why I seem to be the only one :shock:

Thanks guys :-)

its not the md5 of the rom. Just the MD5 of the first 4096 bytes

in windows Powershell

Get-FileHash -Path .\sample.txt -Algorithm MD5 -Bytes 4096

leosmendes
Posts: 26
Joined: Sun Jul 26, 2020 9:54 am
Location: Brazil
Has thanked: 42 times
Been thanked: 6 times

Re: N64 Core

Unread post by leosmendes »

is mario kart saving correctly? on my side it has not saved records or ghosts

FPGA64
Top Contributor
Posts: 618
Joined: Mon Mar 01, 2021 3:10 pm
Has thanked: 41 times
Been thanked: 288 times

Re: N64 Core

Unread post by FPGA64 »

leosmendes wrote: Tue Sep 05, 2023 5:37 pm

is mario kart saving correctly? on my side it has not saved records or ghosts

It wont thats a Pak save and its not been done yet

FPGA64
Top Contributor
Posts: 618
Joined: Mon Mar 01, 2021 3:10 pm
Has thanked: 41 times
Been thanked: 288 times

Re: N64 Core

Unread post by FPGA64 »

See the FAQ

https://vampier.net/N64/

RDP: fix a bug in blender that would use wrong alpha source (fixes e.g. fog in Mario games)

Attachments
N64_20230905.rbf
(3.42 MiB) Downloaded 138 times
rhester72
Top Contributor
Posts: 1005
Joined: Thu Jun 11, 2020 2:31 am
Has thanked: 13 times
Been thanked: 137 times

Re: N64 Core

Unread post by rhester72 »

FPGA64 wrote: Tue Sep 05, 2023 6:01 pm

See the FAQ

https://vampier.net/N64/

FYI, links on the page are broken for Test/Demo ROMs and Handy Links.

Post Reply