Page 1 of 1

Getting the Plumber 64 Game to Work...

Posted: Thu Oct 05, 2023 5:11 pm
by kamshaft

Getting our favorite plumber 64 game to work has been quite a challenge.

I've patched the rom, have the BIOS files loaded (because a lot of other games work).
I even have the database loaded.

I get the logo screen with the voice, then it goes to a blank screen and just sits there.

My guess is that I'm not using the right version of the ROM.
Any help would be greatly apreciated.


Re: Getting the Plumber 64 Game to Work...

Posted: Thu Oct 05, 2023 6:10 pm
by FPGAzumSpass

if the logo comes up and hangs afterwards, you didn't patch it right. Everything else is likely set up correct.

Patches and patchtool can be found here: https://vampier.net/N64/


Re: Getting the Plumber 64 Game to Work...

Posted: Thu Oct 05, 2023 7:24 pm
by rhester72

Be sure you are using the LodgeNet version.


Re: Getting the Plumber 64 Game to Work...

Posted: Fri Oct 06, 2023 2:20 am
by kamshaft
rhester72 wrote: Thu Oct 05, 2023 7:24 pm

Be sure you are using the LodgeNet version.

This was the key! Thanks!


Re: Getting the Plumber 64 Game to Work...

Posted: Fri Oct 06, 2023 11:24 am
by FPGAzumSpass

Only use Lodgenet if you don't want to save ;)

But both standard PAL and NTSC should also work with the patches available if you use the right one matching the version you have.


Re: Getting the Plumber 64 Game to Work...

Posted: Fri Oct 06, 2023 7:17 pm
by Akuma

I checked all of them and they all work with corresponding patches provided on vampier.net :D
If you want to manually patch (instead of using a 3rd party online patcher):

Code: Select all

# flips v1.31 rom patcher
wget https://dl.smwcentral.net/11474/floating.zip
unzip floating.zip src.zip
unzip src.zip -d src
cd src
rm flips.exe flips-linux
make clean
make
cp -p flips flips-linux
strip --strip-unneeded flips-linux
mv flips-linux ..
cd ..

Then you can patch a ROM with:

Code: Select all

./flips-linux --apply --ips "file.ips" "title.z64"

@FPGAzumSpass:
Is there any chance of patching ROM's in memory in the future?


Re: Getting the Plumber 64 Game to Work...

Posted: Sun Oct 08, 2023 7:30 am
by AngelicLiver

Once TLB is implemented, patching the ROM won't be necessary. The intro is the only part of the game that utilises it.


Re: Getting the Plumber 64 Game to Work...

Posted: Sun Oct 08, 2023 6:34 pm
by Akuma

Not even for cheats or mods ?


Re: Getting the Plumber 64 Game to Work...

Posted: Wed Oct 25, 2023 10:41 am
by Rodden

Hello guys... hope this is the right topic.

I patched the Plumber game and got it to work with the NO_Face patch provided on the Vampire site.
Now my question. I can not get save to work.
I have autosave on. I have got the first star and saved in the game. When entering the OSD there should be few second of paus for saving (I've seen this on a youtube clip). This is not visible for me. When resetting MiSTer and reloading the core and game I do not have any save progress.
I'm probably missing something. Could someone help out?
I'm using the 231023 core with justZ00t's patch on US version of SuperMario64.


Re: Getting the Plumber 64 Game to Work...

Posted: Wed Oct 25, 2023 2:11 pm
by FPGA64
Rodden wrote: Wed Oct 25, 2023 10:41 am

Hello guys... hope this is the right topic.

I patched the Plumber game and got it to work with the NO_Face patch provided on the Vampire site.
Now my question. I can not get save to work.
I have autosave on. I have got the first star and saved in the game. When entering the OSD there should be few second of paus for saving (I've seen this on a youtube clip). This is not visible for me. When resetting MiSTer and reloading the core and game I do not have any save progress.
I'm probably missing something. Could someone help out?
I'm using the 231023 core with justZ00t's patch on US version of SuperMario64.

Sounds like you dont have the database file which sets up the save type. Do you have the N64-Database.txt ?


Re: Getting the Plumber 64 Game to Work...

Posted: Wed Oct 25, 2023 3:07 pm
by Rodden

Sounds like you dont have the database file which sets up the save type. Do you have the N64-Database.txt ?

Yes. It's in there (with a capital N).
Could it be some issues with all the different patches?