No right channel audio through HDMI or Analogue I/O

Just got a MiSTer and need some help? Join the forum and post your questions here!
OrigSP

No right channel audio through HDMI or Analogue I/O

Unread post by OrigSP »

Greetings! It's my first time posting here, but I am a long -time MiSTer user and have found this community helpful many times. I'm just not much of an online-forums-posting guy.

Today though, there is an audio issue that I am having difficulty troubleshooting that I'm hoping someone may be able to help with.

I originally put my MiSTer together back in 2019 so I have an analogue I/O board. I recently came across an inexpensive old CRT TV that has component and composite (no S-video) so I picked it up to use with the MiSTer. I first used VGA to component and 3.5 mini to RCA via the analogue I/O board and noticed that there is no right audio channel. I confirmed it wasn't the TV or cables by trying different cables, speakers and headphones. I couldn't find any setting that might affect this so I ended up picking up a super-cheap $5 DAC and used the mini-TOSlink instead.

This fixed the problem and actually sounded pretty good, at least on the old TV speakers. At this point, I figured I probably have some fault in the analogue I/O board remembering that I got it from a random eBay seller.

Today, I am planning on reviving my old PS2 to use with the component input on the TV so I was testing moving the MiSTer over to composite using the Y/C active encoder board. I am also considering replacing the analogue I/O board with the digital I/O so I can have a dual SDRAM setup.

With that in mind, I wanted to test direct video instead of the analogue I/O VGA and found another super-cheap converter to change HDMI to VGA that also has an audio output.

The quality might be questionable, but I like that it allows for a pretty clean setup as far as cables since I can plug it directly into the Y/C active encoder board. Also, at the price, it was worth a try.