ScummVM Shaders?

IanDav

ScummVM Shaders?

Unread post by IanDav »

Hello all.

As the topic suggests, I am wondering if there is any way to access shaders on the MiSTer version of ScummVM? I'm new to this core as I've only just installed it, so not sure if I'm missing something obvious, but I don't see any options for scanlines or anything.

Also, I'm noticing that any scrolling seems like it's not v-synced. I first spotted this on the opening scene of BS2, where the camera pans right as he's in the burning room. It scrolls quite badly with tearing evident. Again, any fix for this?

Thanks in advance.

Hackshed_Carl

Re: ScummVM Shaders?

Unread post by Hackshed_Carl »

As far as I'm aware, shaders etc aren't available for ScummVM as it isn't actually a core but is launched directly on the ARM core as software.

On top of that, I think it was done more as a passion project and as such isn't officially supported.
Saying that, "officially supported" doesn't really apply to this as it's an open source project so you're free to do whatever you wish.

I spent quite a bit of time using ScummVM on MiSTer myself and really enjoyed it.

If the scanlines etc are a deal breaker for you, another option would be to either try setting up ScummVM in the AO486 core or play one of the versions that was ported to Amiga etc.

....oh, and welcome to the community :)

IanDav

Unread post by IanDav »

Thanks for your reply, and for the welcome!

It's not a deal breaker as such for me, but I do much prefer to able to try and fake the CRT look if possible. I did suspect that any reply would confirm what I was already thinking may be the case, in that the options would be more limited with it not being a core in the same way as all of the others.